A number of Tennessee laws went into effect on Jan. 1, 2018, covering things from cell phone use to getting a haircut.
At Gilreath & Associates, we want to make sure you’re in the know about changes in the Tennessee law that may affect you.
The full list can be viewed here, but we’ve created a shortlist for easy reference below.
- Talking on and holding a cellphone while driving in a marked school zone is now considered a delinquent act, leading to a fine up to $50.
- Barbers can now come to your home to cut your hair, whereas before this service was only available to those who were ill or disabled.
- New Tennessee school bus drivers must be at least 25 years of age and complete a training certification program.
- Homeowners can get out of a two-year alarm system contract if they’re forced to move for medical reasons during that time.
- Those who served in the US military and can show proof of passing small arms qualification training or combat pistol training will not have to complete the firing range component of securing a handgun permit.
- Disabled adults are now allowed to have paid personal aides perform maintenance tasks for them in Tennessee.
- Vehicle headlights can only be white or amber.
- Used cars that have been recalled cannot be sold in the state until the dealer has fixed the issue.